killowebcam.blogg.se

Upgrade my mac g4
Upgrade my mac g4









upgrade my mac g4
  1. UPGRADE MY MAC G4 MAC OS
  2. UPGRADE MY MAC G4 MOVIE
  3. UPGRADE MY MAC G4 UPGRADE
  4. UPGRADE MY MAC G4 PRO

Spending $1000 on a modified FireGL is a waste when the G4 Power Mac can't run 3D apps much faster than with a $212 Radeon 9800 Pro. The Dual 1.8 only has 512K L2 cache per processor.Ĥ. That's because the Dual G4/1.4GHz Power Mac has 2MB of 元 cache per processor. Note that the Dual G4/1.4GHz is faster than the Dual G4/1.8GHz when running Photoshop MP actions and all four 3D Game tests.

UPGRADE MY MAC G4 PRO

One the other hand, if you run multiple active applications (like a long FileMaker script or X-Code compile or Final Cut Pro export while checking your email and editing something in your word processsor), then having dual processors can be very helpful.ģ. For most users, a fast single processor should be sufficient. Even then, not every Photoshop function uses dual processors as you can see by our "SP" test. Spending extra for dual processors makes sense if you are running multi-processor aware applications like Photoshop (see "MP" test above). Therefore, the meaningfulness of the comparison will remain questionable.Ģ. Plus, the G5 Power Mac can be expanded to either 4GB or 8GB of memory, depending on the model. The reality is that G5 systems have a much faster frontside bus, memory bus, and graphics slot. Until you can put a G4 CPU in a motherboard with the same frontside bus speed and same memory bus speed as the G5, we can't really say whether a G4 running at the same clock speed can match it.

UPGRADE MY MAC G4 UPGRADE

Though the 2.0GHz G4 upgrade produced respectable performance, it's no match for a dual G5 Power Mac running at the same clock speed. But for now, i'm just trying to get this working at all.1. Note: Assuming this all works out as I hope I do plan on getting some real ram in this. So, am I better off just keeping the OS 10.3, or since i'm all going to do with it is run Garageband, would it be beneficial to upgrade the OS for whatever reason?

UPGRADE MY MAC G4 MOVIE

I did some more research and it seems, apparently, that this version of iLife WILL run on Panther, just not certain parts of it, like the movie HD bit and some iChat things. But after doing some research into it, NOBODY recommends puting Tiger on a system with as little ram and processor speed as what i'm sporting. After looking into the specs, I realized i'd need to upgrade my OS. So I figured i'd just drop iLife '06 (for Gargageband) on to my old desktop which has just been doing the dust gathering game. What i'm doing with it is: I'm sick of jacking my laptop into my "recording studio" everytime I want to work some music. But I should have that worked out this evening. It's the other mystery cards in the other desktop, which i'm essentially salvaging extra parts out of, that i'm not in the know about. The three 128s are in the desktop i'm using. I have tried for example a 128, 256, and 2 512's in the 4 slots and it worked great.Īnd yes before anyone else says anything, there WERE older Macs way before the Power Mac G4 that DID use Matched Pairs of RAM like the 8500/120 for one. It will take 4x 512Meg PC100's though for 2GB RAM!Īnd to answer your last question, that machine is too old for Matched Pairs of RAM. I have a 500 Mhz G4 here and was lucky to have a lot of old PC100 RAM laying around all which works. I would check Other World computers for the proper RAM for that machine. Be careful though, as if you get Ram Chips especially PC133 they might be High Density and the older G4's will not run them. Each slot will take up to a 512Meg PC100 Ram Chip.

upgrade my mac g4 upgrade my mac g4

One is the Single CPU G4 Sawtooth (AGP Graphics) and the other is the Gigabit Ethernet model but it's Dual 450's.Įither way I am sure since it has 4 Ram Slots it's either a Sawtooth or a Gigabit Ethernet model and those run at 100Mhz Bus.

UPGRADE MY MAC G4 MAC OS

Which version of Mac OS is on the machine? There were only only 2 models of the Power Mac G4 that had a 450 Mhz G4.











Upgrade my mac g4